The Chills Announce 'Silver Bullets' LP

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jul 29, 2015

It's been more than a decade since New Zealand indie pop heroes the Chills released their 2004 EP Stand By (and even longer since they issued a full-length). That being said, they've been fairly busy in recent years, rolling out a new track and a live album. Now, they've formally announced their album Silver Bullets.

The album will be out on October 30 through Fire Records. News of its impending arrival won't come as too much of a surprise for those who have been paying close attention, since they've been talking about Silver Bullets since last year.

Recording took place at Denedin, New Zealand's Albany Street Studios. The album features Chills leader Martin Phillipps accompanied by James Dickson, Todd Knudson, Erica Stichbury and Oli Wilson.

For a taste of the album, scroll past the tracklist below to stream "America Says Hello" [via Pitchfork]. It's a tuneful indie rock number with atmospheric, reverb-doused guitar lines and an undercurrent of urgent fuzz.

Also below, listen to the 2013 single "Molten Gold," which also appears on the album.

Silver Bullets:

1. Father Time
2. Warm Waveform
3. Silver Bullets
4. Underwater Wasteland
5. America Says Hello
6. Liquid Situation
7. Pyramid Moon
8. Aurora Corona
9. I Can't Help You
10. Tomboy
11. Molten Gold

Latest Coverage