The Chills Unveil New Album 'Scatterbrain'

Check out the Kiwipop heroes' newly shared song "Monolith"
The Chills Unveil New Album 'Scatterbrain'
The Chills have announced that they will be hitting us up with a new album. The record — the Kiwipop legends' seventh — is called Scatterbrain, and it's being teased with the new track "Monolith."

Scatterbrain follows the band's 2018 effort Snow Bound, and the upcoming record is said to be "a glorious self-examination of Martin Phillipps' songwriting." A press release adds that Scatterbrain is "a thought-provoking and evocative stock take from a man who has lived through good times and bad."

Phillipps himself stated, "There are hard but important truths in our history. I know that it's often said that you learn from those lessons or you'll end up repeating the mistakes. So one should respect and consider the ancient ways. You belittle them at your peril."

The first track to arrive from the album is "Monolith," which has been paired with a visualizer. You can check it out below.

The Chills are now made up of Martin Phillipps (guitar and vocals), Callum Hampton (bass and backing vocals), Todd Knudson (drums and backing vocals), Erica Scally (guitar, keyboards, violin and backing vocals) and Oli Wilson (keyboards and backing vocals).

Scatterbrain arrives via Fire Records on May 14.


1. Monolith

2. Hourglass

3. Destiny

4. Caught in My Eye

5. You're Immortal

6. Little Alien

7. Safe and Sound

8. Worlds Within Worlds

9. Scatterbrain

10. The Walls Beyond Abandon

Pre-order Scatterbrain.