Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Mike Watt's Anywhere Release Sophomore LP

The album features Krist Novoselic, Melvins' Dale Crover, Comets on Fire and more

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished May 3, 2018

Back in 2012, the Mars Volta's Cedric Bixler-Zavala, Minutemen/fIREHOSE bassist Mike Watt, Triclops! guitarist Christian Eric Beaulieu and ex-Sleepy Sun member Rachel Fannan released a record as Anywhere. Now, it's been revealed that the group have quietly released a follow-up.

Consequence of Sound points out that the group's Anywhere II was released exclusively on vinyl as part of Record Store Day last month. As the event's site shows, the LP was pressed in an edition of 1,500. A wider digital release date is set for tomorrow (May 4) through ORG Music.

As credits for the effort reveal, Anywhere II features the core members lining up alongside Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic (who plays accordion on two tracks), Melvins' Dale Crover and America's Next Top Model winner Naima Mora. Other guests include members of Earthless, Comets on Fire, Golden and more.

A press statement reads that since their debut, Anywhere have "evolved into an expansive, bizarrely curated cavalcade of A-list psychedelic exhibitionists from all parts California, and a few world famous musicians playing non-famous instruments, all arranged and overseen by a mostly unknown, humble guitar playing surfer dude."

You can find the album's tracklisting below, and artwork above.

Anywhere II:

1. Bone Flute Blues
2. Light The Portals
3. Moon Burnt Mountain
4. Sunset Ruins
5. No French Quarter
6. D.O.V
7. Flamenco Youth
8. Astro Physical Graffiti
9. Olompali

Latest Coverage