Cat Power Announces 'Sun,' Shares New Track

Cat Power Announces 'Sun,' Shares New Track
Cat Power previously said that her new album Sun would be out in September. Sure enough, the songwriter also known as Chan Marshall has officially confirmed the details of her latest LP.

As promised, Sun will be out on September 4 through Matador Records. These 11 songs will make up Marshall's first album of original material since 2006's The Greatest (2008's Jukebox was largely composed of covers). The self-produced album was recorded in a number of locales, including Marshall's own studio in Malibu, CA.

You can get a taste of what she came up with by watching a video for the pop number "Ruin" below, which blends bubbly pianos with angrily distorted electric guitar. It isn't so much a music video as an album teaser clip that spends much of its runtime displaying an image of the Sun album cover. You can also download "Ruin" here.

The album, along with bonus tracks, will be available to pre-order from iTunes. Follow this link once it goes live late tonight (June 18), and looks for the details of a special vinyl edition to be announced soon.


1. Cherokee

2. Sun

3. Ruin

4. 3,6,9v
5. Always on My Own

6. Real Life

7. Human Being

8. Manhattan

9. Silent Machine

10. Nothin but Time

11. Peace and Love