Carsen Gray Is a Vessel for Haida Gwaii's Quiet Magic on Debut Album 'Misadventures'

Listen to the new album in full, courtesy of Nettwerk

BY Allie GregoryPublished Aug 25, 2023

Today, Haida Gwaii-based Indigenous singer-songwriter Carsen Gray releases her debut album Misadventures via Nettwerk.

Following her two 2022 EPs — Notes to Self and Each Moment — the 16-track album finds the artist grappling with love and loss, her stripped-back instrumentation and whispered vocals serving as a conduit for her soulful songwriting.

"Sometimes you just have to believe that everything happens for a reason: the good, the bad and the ugly," Gray shared in a release. "Behind every major victory, there are tales of heartbreak, loss and failure. But, in many instances, those misadventures are the perfect storm of what's needed to lead you to happier times and your successes. Trust that God had a plan for you and don't get discouraged."

"The driving force is gratitude," she explained. "At this point in my life, I'm in a really good place… I thought about all of the things I'm grateful for and what I've been blessed with for my family, for the life I've built, and the creative space I have. Being home in Haida Gwaii, I had the opportunity to create at a Zen pace. We're all born with a God-given gift. I believe I found mine with music. The project is reflective, because I'm talking about God, my partner, love and home."

Listen to Gray's debut in full on the player of your choice below, where you can also revisit her recent music videos.


1. Misadventures
2. Cracks
3. Heavens Touch
4. Long Overdue
5. Worth It
6. Everything Is Bless
7. In the Garden
8. Loud Love
9. Colours Like Yours
10. Let It Go
11. Wet Sock
12. Here with Me
13. Alive
14. back back
15. Each Moment
16. Cry to Me

Latest Coverage