Here Are All the 2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards Winners

BY Allie GregoryPublished Apr 5, 2020

After cancelling their 2020 awards ceremony last month due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, organizers of the Canadian Folk Music Awards held an online ceremony last night (April 4) to announce this year's winners.

All 20 awards were presented online during the 15th anniversary ceremony, including three awards for the Small Glories for their work on Assiniboine & the Red. Quebec artists received the most awards this year with six in total, just above Ontario, Manitoba and Nova Scotia, with three artists each.

Additionally, organizers have announced plans to resume the awards' in-person ceremony in 2021 in Charlottetown, PEI, where the 2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards were scheduled to take place this year.

Watch the entire ceremony below, where you can also find a list of all the official list of all the CFMA 2020 winners.

2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards Winners:

Traditional Album of the Year

Queen City Jubilee by the Slocan Ramblers

Contemporary Album of the Year

Assiniboine & the Red by the Small Glories 

Children's Album of the Year

Lullabies For Big Eyes by the Kerplunks

Traditional Singer of the Year

Rachel Davis for Ashlar (Còig) 

Contemporary Singer of the Year

Matt Andersen for Halfway Home by Morning 

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year

Sabin Jacques for Grandes Rencontres (Sabin Jacques & Rachel Aucoin) 

Instrumental Group of the Year

Mairi Rankin & Eric Wright for The Cabin Sessions 

Vocal Group of the Year

The Small Glories for Assiniboine & the Red

Ensemble of the Year

The Small Glories for Assiniboine & the Red 

Solo Artist of the Year

Irish Mythen for Little Bones 

English Songwriter(s) of the Year

Abigail Lapell for Getaway 

French Songwriter(s) of the Year

Bernard Adamus for C'qui nous reste du Texas 

Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year

Diyet van Lieshout for Diyet & the Love Soldiers 

World Solo Artist of the Year

Wesli for Rapadou Kreyol 

World Group of the Year

Ayrad for Zoubida

New/Emerging Artist(s) of the Year

Geneviève Racette for No Water, No Flowers 

Producer(s) of the Year

Daniel Ledwell for Time Travel (Lennie Gallant)

Pushing the Boundaries Award

Elisapie for The Ballad of the Runaway Girl

Young Performer(s) of the Year

Joshua Haulli for AQQUT

Unsung Hero Award

Donnie Campbell

Latest Coverage