By Divine Right Spread Mutant Message with New Album

By Divine Right Spread <i>Mutant Message</i> with New Album
For a band that have, at different times, contained Broken Social Scene's Brendan Canning and Feist, Holy Fuck's Brian Borcherdt and members of the Meligrove Band, Canadian indie stalwarts By Divine Right sure have been quiet on the musical front these last few years. Cue the excitement, then, because the band are set to release their first full-length album in five years, and it'll hit shelves sooner than you think.

Mutant Message will be available at your local record store and digitally on December 8 via Hand Drawn Dracula. It will mark the product of songwriting sessions that have been going on for years between touring the U.S., Australia and China, and producing albums by Lily Frost, Meligrove Band, Brian Borcherdt and the Bicycles.

By Divine Right front-man Jose Contreras recorded the album in his new studio in Ontario which, according to the press release, is a "'no fat' extra trim collection of ten perfect pop songs" that celebrate love and life.

The band have a few dates scheduled in support of the album, so far all of which are in Ontario.

Mutant Message:

1. "I Love A Girl" 

2. "Que Paso?" 

3. "Wings too Big" 

4. "Cupid in Oilskins" 

5. "Figure Me Out" 

6. "Kiss My Chakras" 

7. "Pisco Sour" 

8. "2002-2003" 

9. "Help Me Find A Place To Land" 

10. "I Will Hook You Up"

Tour dates:

11/19 Ottawa, ON -€“ Zaphod's

11/20 Toronto, ON -€“ the Garrison - Record Release Party
12/12 Windsor, ON -€“ the Phog