Built to Spill Are Releasing an Album of Daniel Johnston Covers

BY Josiah HughesPublished Feb 3, 2020

Just last week, Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy released a live album documenting his performance with the late Daniel Johnston in Chicago in 2017. The musical tributes don't end there, however, as fellow indie heavyweights and Johnston backing band Built to Spill have thrown their hat in the ring with a new tribute album.

Simply titled Built to Spill Plays the Songs of Daniel Johnston, the 11-song LP will arrive on May 1 via Ernest Jenning Record Co

The album saw Built to Spill record as a trio, with founder Doug Martsch joining Jason Albertini and Steve Gere. The album was recorded while Built to Spill were practising to be Johnston's backing band in Vancouver on his final tour.

"It was pretty special for us. Basically we wanted to get good documentation of what our rehearsals were like. It was a lot heavier than what I thought it would be," Martsch said.

Until the album's May 1 release date, Built to Spill's cover of "Bloody Rainbow" can be streamed below. You can now pre-order the album.

Built to Spill Plays the Songs of Daniel Johnston:

1. Bloody Rainbow
2. Tell Me Now
3. Honey I Sure Miss You
4. Good Morning You
5. Heart, Mind and Soul
6. Life In Vain
7. Mountain Top
8. Queenie The Dog
9. Impossible Love
10. Fake Records Of Rock & Roll
11. Fish


Latest Coverage