Bryan Ferry Announces New Solo Album 'Bitter-Sweet'

You can hear the title track from the jazz-influenced LP now
Bryan Ferry Announces New Solo Album 'Bitter-Sweet'
Roxy Music legend Bryan Ferry has announced a new solo album, revealing he will release Bitter-Sweet this fall.

Like 2012's The Jazz Age, the album is credited to "Bryan Ferry and His Orchestra," and while it again will explore Ferry's jazz influences, this time the LP will feature vocals.

As the artist explains, Bitter-Sweet was inspired by his work on the Sky Atlantic/Netflix series Babylon Berlin, a German period drama based on the books by Volker Kutscher set in the 1920s.

Throughout, Ferry reworks some Roxy Music classics, as well as some from his prolific solo career. As you can see in the tracklist below, this includes such songs as "While My Heart is Still Beating," "Sign of the Times," "Bitter Sweet" and "Dance Away."

Princeton University musicologist Simon Morrison penned notes for the record and writes:

Bitter-Sweet accomplishes what the modernists of the past, in their youthful enthusiasm, could not. Ferry's music embraces the artifice of art as well as the artlessness of emotion so that the 'sad affair' described at the start leads you to "break down and cry" by the end. Thus we are transported to the Berlin of the Tacheles club and the Chamäleon, to the zeitgeist of that jazz-friendly metropolis in the young 20th century — the hedonistic world of Babylon Berlin. Unlike that instrumental affair, however, new record Bitter-Sweet contains vocals, and is prompted by the songwriter's work on the Sky Atlantic/Netflix series Babylon Berlin. Re-working some Roxy Music and solo classics, it aims to capture the freshness, the sheer modernity of 1920s jazz and the birth of popular culture.

For a taste of the Bitter-Sweet, you can stream its title track now down below, where you'll also find the tracklisting.

The new album arrives on November 30 and you can pre-order it on CD and vinyl over here.


1. Alphaville
2. Reason Or Rhyme
3. Sign Of The Times
4. New Town
5. Limbo
6. Bitter-Sweet
7. Dance Away
8. Zamba
9. Sea Breezes
10. While My Heart Is Still Beating
11. Bitters End
12. Chance Meeting
13. Boys And Girls