BreakOut West Reveals 2017's Western Canadian Music Awards Nominees

Dan Mangan, Andy Shauf, Dear Rouge, Ruth B and Corb Lund are among those artists up for awards

BY Exclaim! StaffPublished Apr 24, 2017

In 2017, the annual BreakOut West will be celebrating 15 years of honouring music in Western Canada. And as the event gears up to take over Edmonton this summer, the Western Canadian Music Alliance has revealed the nominees for the 2017 Western Canadian Music Awards and Industry Awards.

With BreakOut West set to take place in Edmonton from September 13 to 17, the full list of nominees has been announced. Among the notable names, you'll see the likes of Dan Mangan, Andy Shauf, Dear Rouge, DGS Samurai Champs, Ruth B, the Zolas, Factor Chandelier, Corb Lund, Jesse Zubot, Striker, Fond of Tigers, The Harpoonist & the Axe Murderer and more.

You can view the complete list of nominees for the music awards below, while the industry awards nominees can be seen over here.

Along with all those, the 2017 Heritage Award will be going to CKUA's Ken Regan, the Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award will be given to the late Kirby and the Hall of Fame inductee will be Paul Brandt.

2017 Western Canadian Music Awards nominees:

Blues Artist of the Year:

Big Dave McLean (MB)
Harpdog Brown (BC)
James Buddy Rogers (BC)
Ryan McNally (YT)
Steve Kozak Band (BC)
Kenny "Blue Boss" Wayne (BC)

Children's Artist of the Year:

Ginalina (BC)

Madame Diva et Micah le Jeune Voyageur (MB)

Stella Swanson and the Rosie Joyfuls (BC)

The Oot n' Oots (BC)

Will Stroet (BC)

Classical Composition of the Year:

"Magnetic North" - Carmen Braden (NT)

"Pots 'n Pans Falling" - Edward Top (BC)

"Immersion" - Jordan Nobles (BC)

"Raven Tales" - Marcus Goddard (BC)

"Choir Practice, A Comic Opera in One Act" - Stephen Chatman (BC)

Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year:


Esette (AB)

I M U R (BC)

iskwé (BC)

Kytami (BC)

Indigenous Artist of the Year, presented by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN):

Blue Moon Marquee (AB)

Cindy Paul (AB)

Indian City (MB)

Jade Turner (MB)

Jay Gilday (AB)

Jazz Artist of the Year:

Al Muirhead (AB)

Michael Kaeshammer (BC)

Quatuor André Lachance (BC)

Quinn Bachand's Brishen (BC)

Steve Kirby's Oceanic Jazz Orchestra (MB)

Pop Artist of the Year:

Andy Shauf (SK)

Dear Rouge (BC)

Jocelyn Alice (AB)

Ruth B (AB)

The Zolas (BC)

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year:


Factor Chandelier (SK)

Merkules (BC)

Snak The Ripper (BC)

The Lytics (MB)

Rock Artist of the Year, presented by Radio Starmaker Fund:

Dan Mangan (BC)

Mobina Galore (MB)

Scenic Route to Alaska (AB)

The Matinée (AB)

The Pack AD (BC)

Roots Solo Artist of the Year:

Corb Lund (AB)

Jen Lane (SK)

Joe Nolan (AB)

Maria Dunn (AB)

Sarah Jane Scouten (BC)

Spiritual Artist of the Year:

Heritage Hill (BC)

Jaylene Johnson (MB)

Jon Bauer (AB)

Steve Bell (MB)

Warren Dean Flandez (BC)

Video Director of the Year:

Alek Rzeszowski - Yes We Mystic "No Harm" (MB)

Anthony Creech - Andino Suns "Aire Libre" (SK)

Brandon Fletcher - Nuela Charles "Crumbling Down" (BC)

Dylan Roberts - King Dylan "Untouchable" (AB)

Zach Wilson - The Dead South "In Hell I'll Be In Good Company" (SK)

World Artist of the Year:

Andino Suns (SK)

Casimiro Nhussi (MB)

Jocelyn Petit (BC)

Kelly Bado (MB)

Papa Mambo (MB)

BreakOut Artist of the Year, presented by CKUA Radio Network:

Andy Shauf (SK)
Begonia (MB)
Dan Davidson (AB)
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer (BC)
William Prince (MB)

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year, presented by Canadian Music Centre:

Alan Rinehart (BC)

Daniel Janke (YT)

duo corvi (BC)

Standing Wave (BC)

Vancouver Intercultural Orchestra & Laudate Singers (BC)

Country Artist of the Year, presented by Dauphin's Countryfest:

Aaron Pritchett (BC)

Dan Davidson (AB)

Doc Walker (MB)

Madeline Merlo (BC)

The Washboard Union (BC)

Francophone Artist of the Year:

Alpha Toshineza (MB)

Ariane Mahrÿke Lemire (AB)

Kelly Bado (MB)

Ponteix (SK)

Shawn Jobin (SK)

Instrumental Artist of the Year:

Adam Dobres (BC)

Five Alarm Funk (BC)

Fond of Tigers (AB)

Kent Sangster's Obsessions Octet (AB)

The Fretless (BC)

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year:

All Else Fails (AB)

Black Thunder (SK)

Soul Mates (SK)

Striker (AB)

Untimely Demise (SK)

Producer of the Year, presented by Nimbus School of Recording & Media:

Andy Shauf - Andy Shauf 'The Party' (SK)

Clayton Bellamy - The Dungarees (AB)

Jesse Gander - The Pack AD 'Positive Thinking' (BC)

Jesse Zubot - Jesse Zubot/Fond of Tigers (BC)

Russell Broom - Rebecca Lappa/David Bradford/JP Maurice/The Static Shift (AB)

Recording of the Year:

Andy Shauf - The Party (SK)

Big Little Lions - Just Keep Moving (BC)

Dear Rouge - Black to Gold (BC)

Scenic Route to Alaska - Long Walk Home (AB)

The Zolas - Swooner (BC)

Roots Duo/Group of the Year:

100 Mile House (AB)

Big Little Lions (BC)

Kacy & Clayton (SK)

Karrnnel Sawitsky & Daniel Koulack (SK/MB)

The Bills (BC)

Songwriter(s) of the Year, presented by The Society of Composers, Authors, and Music Publishers:

Andy Shauf - "The Magician" (SK)

Corb Lund - "Washed-Up Rock Start Factory Blues" (AB)

Sam Tudor - "Joseph In The Bathroom" (BC)

The Zolas - "Swooner" (BC)

Alexa Dirks (Begonia) & Matt Schellenberg - "Juniper" (MB)

Urban Artist of the Year:

Damian La Grange (AB)


DGS Samurai Champs (SK)

Nuela Charles (AB)

Sophia Danai (BC)

Visual Media Composer of the Year, presented by Green Sky Labs Inc.:

Factor Eight - "The Lion" (SK)

James Murdoch - "Fishcamp Soundtrack" (AB)

Jared Robinson - "Music is a Part of All Our Lives" (SK)

Matthew Schellenberg - "Lovesick" (MB)

Mitch Dorge - "The Advocate" (MB)

Latest Coverage