Brasstronaut Return with New Album

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Oct 19, 2016

Over the summer, Vancouver outfit Brasstronaut came back into our lives with their new track "Raveshadow," promising at the time that their long-awaited new album was coming soon. At last, we finally have the details of said record.

Following up 2012's Mean Sun, the new Brasstronaut album will be self-titled and arrive November 11 via Hybridity Music/Tin Angel Records.

The album was recorded and produced by the six-piece band at Gold Hippie Studios in Brooklyn/Vancouver and at Monarch Studios in Vancouver, with mixing taking place by the band's Edo Van Breemen with Colin Stewart (Hive Studios) in Saanich, BC.

Here's how a press release describes the new album:

With members pursuing various solo projects from their different bases in Vancouver, Winnipeg and New York, the album first emerged from a series of audio sketches that were ping-ponged across the continent until certain ideas began to emerge and gain momentum. Gradually they found their rapport and developed bits of the sonic language which would become the basis for the album. It's a sound that sees familiar strands of the band's experimental roots expanded upon towards something more confidently kinetic, while at the same time drawing from each member's strength to form a more kaleidoscopic whole.

Back in 2014, Van Breemen spoke to Exclaim! about Brasstronaut, calling the album very "democratic," with each member contributing his own material.

"There are a lot of songs that are way more upbeat than anything else we've done before," he said at the time. "We just wanted to make lively music. Brasstronaut used to be an outlet for mellow, subdued stuff. The more we live apart and then we come together to play shows, the more we want to rock out a little bit."

That's the album cover above, and you can see the nine-song tracklist below. Also below, you can revisit the video to "Raveshadow."

Brasstronaut will celebrate the release with a hometown show on November 25 at Vancouver's Fortune Sound Club.


1. Hawk
2. Paris
3. Raveshadow
4. Tricky
5. Whitney
6. Desert Rock
7. Old Pan
8. Sooner Or Later
9. Climb

Latest Coverage