Bloc Party Announce 'The Nextwave Sessions' EP

Bloc Party Announce 'The Nextwave Sessions' EP
If the rumours are true, post-punk pop troupe Bloc Party are likely set to go on another lengthy hiatus. Before they do, however, the group have announced plans to release one last EP.

Following last year's Four, Bloc Party have announced plans for a new release called The Nextwave Sessions. The EP includes five new songs that they've been performing on their recent tour, and was recorded with Franz Ferdinand producer Dan Carey.

In a press release, frontman Kele Okereke said, "'Ratchet' was the first song we recorded with Dan. It really came together whilst we were on tour in 2012. We started slipping it into the sets at the start of this year just to try it out and the reactions were insane. We knew we had something special."

UPDATE: You can watch a video for "Ratchet" below.

The Nextwave Sessions will be available on August 13 via Frenchkiss/Co-op.

The Nextwave Sessions:

1. Ratchet
2. Obscene
3. French Exit
4. Montreal
5. Children of the Future