Black Mountain Detail 'Year Zero' Soundtrack

Black Mountain Detail 'Year Zero' Soundtrack
Back in the fall, Black Mountain leader Steve McBean told Exclaim! that his stoner rock ensemble would be delivering a soundtrack for surf flick Year Zero in 2012, though it will arrive a couple of months later than initially hinted at. While McBean hoped the collection would drop in January, Jagjaguwar has announced it will come out on April 3 on vinyl and digitally.

As previously reported, the soundtrack is a mix of unreleased treasures collected throughout the band's career, as well as a couple gems from their back catalogue. The press release adds that Year Zero "is nothing less than the band's full, powerful glory distilled down to one dense, 45-minute acid tab of music."

As promised, "Mary Lou," a song that McBean explained was written in the pre-Black Mountain days with his old outfit Jerk with a Bomb, appears on the soundtrack, and you can stream and/or download the dark and winding psychedelic track below. Older numbers are culled from the outfit's last album Wilderness Heart and 2008's In the Future.

You can see the full tracklisting below and the cover above. At the bottom of the page, you can also watch the trailer to the Joe G.-directed film.

Year Zero:

1. Phosphorescent Waves

2. Bright Lights

3. Mary Lou

4. Embrace Euphoria

5. Tyrants

6. Modern Music

7. In Sequence

8. Wilderness Heart

9. Breathe