Bill Murray's 'Rock the Kasbah' Gets Soundtrack Release

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Sep 17, 2015

Bill Murray's upcoming, Afghanistan-based rock'n'roll comedy Rock the Kasbah hits theatres next month and will be supported by a soundtrack release featuring performances from the actor and co-stars Zooey Deschanel and Leem Lubany.

The film hits theatres October 23, with a soundtrack landing the same day via Varese Sarabande. An Amazon listing [via Film Music Reporter] reveals that the 12-song set will feature a mix of classic rock tracks and covers from the Rock the Kasbah cast.

The Barry Levinson-directed film focuses on tour manager Richie Lanz's (Murray) unsuccessful USO trip of Afghanistan, which ultimately leads him to the discovery of an Afghan woman (Lubany) with an extraordinary voice. As such, the soundtrack features three Cat Stevens covers from Lubany, as well as "Bitch" by Deschanel and a cover Deep Purple's "Smoke on the Water" from Murray. It's as yet unclear if the latter is a full-band version of the track or the a cappella version you'll find in the film trailer down below.

Previously issued material on the set includes Cat Stevens' "Pop Star," Harry Nilsson's undefeatable "Jump into the Fire" and Bob Dylan's "Knockin' on Heaven's Door." While the trailer features snippets of David Bowie's "Rebel Rebel," the glam number is not featured on the Rock the Kasbah soundtrack.

You'll find all of the album info below.

Rock the Kasbah: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:

1. Cat Stevens - "Pop Star"
2. Marcelo Zarvos - "Welcome to Afghanistan"
3. Isa Machine & LP - "Torch"
4. Leem Lubany - "Trouble"
5. Jalal el Allouli, Youness, and Adil Meriouch - "Pashtun Warrior"
6. Harry Nilsson - "Jump Into The Fire"
7. Leem Lubany - "Wild World"
8. Zooey Deschanel - "Bitch"
9. Bob Dylan - "Knockin' on Heaven's Door"
10. Marcelo Zarvos - "The 4 Sacred Bonds"
11. Leem Lubany - "Peace Train"
12. Bill Murray - "Smoke on the Water"

Latest Coverage