Big Wreck Return with 'Albatross'

Big Wreck Return with 'Albatross'
The current swell of '90s CanCon reunions -- from the Headstones to the hinted reformation of I Mother Earth to Treble Charger -- continues with news that bluesy Ontario hard rockers Big Wreck have a new album on the way.

A press release confirms that the band will issue their third album, ominously titled Albatross, on March 6 through Anthem/Warner Music. It's their first record since 2001's The Pleasure and the Greed.

According to singer/guitarist Ian Thornley, who released two albums as Thornley after Big Wreck initially split, it was only natural to patch things up with guitarist Brian Doherty, with whom he didn't speak for years,

"I just missed him," said Thornley said in a statement. "I called him just to hang out, but of course knew the chemistry would be there."

Six-stringer Doherty backed up his bandmate's sentiments, adding, "We got together and started doing the same things as when we first met, on a personal and musical level. It seemed to make complete sense."

The 11-song outing was produced by Thornley, alongside executive producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Rush) and Eric Ratz (Billy Talent, Cancer Bats), and the outfit believe the disc has them getting back to the massive radio rock sound that propelled past hits "Blown Wide Open" and "That Song."

"I went for all the good stuff that's missing on rock records these days," Thornley explained of Albatross. "I wanted to avoid falling into the formulaic cookie-cutter trap. That's not going to interest me, so how can it interest the listener? I have to go with my gut, which means longer songs, intros, bridges and guitar solos which explore strange territories, more room for breathing and a different dynamic range or sonic palette altogether."

You can check out the first single, "Albatross," as well as the album's tracklisting down below.


1. "Head Together"
2. "A Million Days"
3. "Wolves"
4. "Albatross"
5. "Glass Room"
6. "All Is Fair"
7. "Control"
8. "Rest Of The World"
9. "You Caught My Eye"
10. "Do What You Will"
11. "Time"