Beirut Announce New EP, New Side-Project

Beirut Announce New EP, New Side-Project
After a lengthy bout of silence, Beirut’s Zach Condon is once again gathering his troops for some new Old World sounds. Via Pitchfork, the Balkan-loving troubadour has announced that he will package up a pair of new EPs as a single release, which will hit shops early next year on February 17.

For the first of the two-EP package, titled March of the Zapotec, Condon offers six tracks under his usual Beirut moniker. As for the second, Holland, he’s taking on the name Realpeople, which is the name of Condon’s pre-Beirut project, even though these are new songs. Icy Demon’s Griffin Rodriguez engineered and mastered the two EPs, some of whose tracks were recorded recently in Mexico.

On the label front, Condon’s imprint Pompeii Records will be handling the CD release with a little help from Ba Da Bing!. The vinyl will come courtesy of the folks over at Obey Your Brain.

Beirut is expected to make an announcement about a 2009 tour in the near future, but in the meantime, here are the tracklistings to the EPs:

Beirut March of the Zapotec:

1. "El Zocalo”
2. "La Llorna”
3. "My Wife”
4. "The Akara”
5. "On a Bayonet”
6. "The Shrew”

Realpeople Holland:

1. "My Night With a Prostitute From Marseille”
2. "My Wife, Lost in the Wild”
3. "Venice”
4. "The Concubine”
5. "No Dice”

Beirut "Nantes"