Arkells Detail 'Blink Twice,' Share New Single with Coeur de pirate and Aly & AJ

"Dance with You" arrives alongside a Mark Myers-directed music video

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 23, 2022

Arkells have shared more details of their upcoming seventh studio album Blink Twice, which is now set for release on September 23 via Universal Music Canada. Today, they've also shared a new single called "Dance with You," a collaborative track with Coeur de pirate and Aly & AJ.

"Blink Twice is about going to new places and seeing the world with fresh eyes. You can either move through life and grow stubborn, or you can grow curious," frontman Max Kerman said of the project.

"We've never had an album with so many guest artists along for the ride. Everyone from Cold War Kids, to Aly & AJ, Tegan and Sara, Lights, Coeur de pirate, Joel Plaskett and Wesley Schultz of the Lumineers. At our core we'll always be a living, breathing soul band. But Blink Twice lets us be that and more."

The latest single follows the release of album cuts "Reckoning" and "Past Life," and sees Kerman singing in French and English alongside Béatrice Martin of Coeur de pirate, who also penned the French verse.

"We've always loved French music. From '60s folk to modern electronic music, the sound of the language is unmistakably cool and romantic," said Kerman.

Aly & AJ, who sing the chorus, added: "We are thrilled to be featured on this track. And we're happy to lend our vocals to this perfect summer jam to cut loose to."

Catch Arkells, Haviah Mighty, K.Flay, Mt. Joy and friends at The Rally in Hamilton this weekend, and watch the Mark Myers-directed music video for "Dance with You" below, where you'll also find the Blink Twice tracklist.

Blink Twice:

1. Reckoning
2. Past Life (feat. Cold War Kids)
3. Take Back Everything
4. Human Being (feat. Lights)
5. Teenage Tears (feat. Tegan and Sara)
6. Miracle
7. Nowhere to Go (feat. Wesley Schultz)
8. Dance with You (feat. Cœur de pirate, Aly & AJ)
9. Running Scared
10. Something's Gotta Give (feat. Joel Plaskett)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage