Apples in Stereo Front-man Robert Schneider Is Doing It For The Kids

Apples in Stereo Front-man Robert Schneider Is Doing It For The Kids
After years of rocking the grownups, Robert Schneider is taking it to kids. The Apples in Stereo front-man and Elephant 6 co-founder has announced he will be releasing a new kids’ album under his alter ego Robbert Bobbert, "a genius inventor of musical mayhem.”

The debut album by Robbert Bobbert & the Bubble Machine — "[who] performs songs from his Beach Boys-inspired indie rock songbook” — is set to drop January 20 via Little Monster Records, a newly launched indie kids’ music label based in New York. Along with the self-titled album, the release will also be packaged with a comic book designed by artist Todd Webb, who’s also the vocalist for Seamonster.

"Recording music for children is an amazing and fun experience,” Schneider recently told antiMusic. "It forces me to be extra creative because you are writing for an extra creative audience. Kids’ ears are very tuned in to unusual sounds, so I threw many of my regular instruments out the window in order to come up with a whole new palette of colourful noises and wanted to make super-pop music that kids will like to sing along with.”

And if you have doubts about whether Schneider’s songs will do it for the kids, he says not to worry: all the Robbert Bobbert material has been tested on his son Max.

Here is the tracklisting:

1. "I Am a Clock”
2. "We R Super Heroes”
3. "Hey Little Puppy”
4. "Gravity”
5. "Fee Fi Fo, Fee Fi Fum”
6. "The Little Duck”
7. "Boom Boom”
8. "The Mighty Mighty Elephant”
9. "Ukelele for Davy”
10. "Laughing”
11. "I Love the Animals”
12. "A Tiny Sheep”

The Apples in Stereo - "Strawberryfire”