Amorphis Announce 'Under the Red Cloud'

Amorphis Announce 'Under the Red Cloud'
After reissuing their Privilege of Evil EP in 2013, Finnish metal unit Amorphis have announced that they're finally following up their last proper full-length, Circle. Titled Under the Red Cloud, it floats into stores on September 4 through Nuclear Blast.

A press release explains that the band tracked the LP with Jens Bogren (Opeth, Katatonia, Amon Amarth). The standard version contains 10 new cuts, while a deluxe edition and the double-LP release include bonus tracks "Come the Spring" and "Winter's Sleep."

While samples from the set have yet to arrive, guitarist Esa Holopainen declared in a press statement that Under the Red Cloud is one of the "Top 3" Amorphis records of all time. He added: "There's a lot's of elements in the songs but every note and element is in perfect harmony so that the result is fucking heavy and melodic."

You'll find the full tracklisting down below, while the cover can be seen up above. The artwork, which surrounds a scaly serpent with a quartet of Christ-like figures, was produced by Valnoir Mortasonge (Laibach, Watain, Behemoth).

Amorphis are celebrating the 20th anniversary of their Tales from the Thousand Lakes with a series of European festival dates, while a tour in support of Under the Red Cloud is expected to take place later in the fall. You'll find their summer itinerary over here.

Under the Red Cloud:

1. Under The Red Cloud
2. The Four Wise Ones
3. Bad Blood
4. The Skull
5. Death Of A King
6. Sacrifice
7. Dark Path
8. Enemy At The Gates
9. Tree Of Ages
10. White Night
11. Come The Spring *
12. Winter's Sleep *

* digipak and double LP edition bonus tracks