Amon Tobin Readies New Album as Only Child Tyrant

Hear the track "Monkey Box" from the upcoming LP 'Time to Run'

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jun 5, 2019

Though Amon Tobin only just released his Fear in a Handful of Dust LP back in April, the long-running electronic producer has now detailed a new album under the alias Only Child Tyrant.

The producer will deliver an eight-track effort titled Time to Run under the Only Child Tyrant moniker on July 26. It's set to arrive through his new label Nomark.

Time to Run's eight tracks are described as "intense, angular indie rock made by acid dipped machines," with Tobin "channelling a stroppy, relentless kid who's been listening to his uncle's collection of rock (from Beefheart and Zeppelin to Fugazi via Dick Dale and beyond) and stealing his brother's '90s mixtapes, and it's all gone awry."

A first taste of what that sounds like can be heard below with first single "Monkey Box." Tobin has also partnered with Bandcamp's new vinyl pressing service to give Time to Run a vinyl pressing, which is available for pre-order.

"I've often made my favourite things when I wasn't overthinking things. This record came about over a period of time between things I may well have been overthinking," Tobin explained in a statement. "It's fun to program drums that sound live and fake at the same time, to make synths sound like guitars and have guitars played by robots. My enjoyment of these processes became a complete sound with its own personality, one that needed its own name. I hope you'll like it as much or at least nearly as much as I did making it."

Tobin revealed plans for Time to Run in a recent Exclaim! interview, in which he also said he was sitting on multiple albums' worth of new material.

Time to Run:

1. Monkey Box 
2. Father's Son (ft. Figueroa)
3. Solid Grey Zebra
4. Long Down
5. King of Kong
6. Time to Run
7. Eight Bit Psyche
8. Father's Son (Instrumental)

Latest Coverage