​American Football Tap Members of Paramore, Slowdive, Land of Talk for 'LP3'

Hear the first song from the album "Silhouettes"

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Dec 11, 2018

Emo idols American Football delivered their long-awaited sophomore album in 2016, but thankfully fans won't have to wait another 17 years for the follow-up. The band will release their third self-titled album next year.
American Football (a.k.a. LP3) is due out March 22 via Polyvinyl. It's available for pre-order in a variety of formats here.
Like its predecessor, LP3 was recorded with producer Jason Cupp at Arc Studios in Omaha. Unlike both records before it, though, the famed house in Urbana, IL, that appeared on both previous covers is nowhere to be seen this time around.
The songwriting has changed too.
"I feel like my lyric writing has changed a lot over the years," frontman Mike Kinsella said in a statement. "The goal is to be conversational, maybe to state something giant and heavy, but in a very plain way. But, definitely in this record, I keep things a little more vague."
The new record also hears the band enlisting collaborators like Paramore's Hayley Williams on "Uncomfortably Numb," Slowdive's Rachel Goswell on "I Can't Feel You" and Land of Talk's Elizabeth Powell on "Every Wave to Ever Rise."
Check out the full eight-song tracklisting below.
The first song to be unveiled from the upcoming album is "Silhouettes," and you can listen to that below as well.
American Football / LP3:
1. Silhouettes
2. Every Wave To Ever Rise (ft. Elizabeth Powell)
3. Uncomfortably Numb (ft. Hayley Williams)
4. Heir Apparent
5. Doom In Full Bloom
6. I Can't Feel You (ft. Rachel Goswell)
7. Mine To Miss
8. Life Support

Latest Coverage