Algiers Get 'SHOOK' on New Album, Share Single Featuring RATM's Zack de la Rocha

The LP also features contributions from Backxwash, Future Islands' Samuel T. Herring, Nadah El Shazly and more

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Oct 26, 2022

After teaming up with Backxwash and Billy Woods for new song "Bite Back" last month, Atlanta's Algiers are doing just that by sharing another single —  featuring Rage Against the Machine's Zack de la Rocha — alongside news of their forthcoming album.

Get SHOOK on February 24 via Matador. It follows 2020's There Is No Year, as well as their feature on Massive Attack's Utopia EP.

In addition to Backxwash, Woods and de la Rocha, Shook features contributions from Future Islands' Samuel T. Herring, the Dungeon Family's Big Rube, Nadah El Shazly, Jae Matthews (Boy Harsher), LaToya Kent (Mourning [A] BLKstar), DeForrest Brown Jr. (Speaker Music), Patrick Shiroishi, Lee Bains III and Mark Cisneros across a whopping 17 tracks.

Shook is described as a "defiant, genre-eclipsing, technicolour Atlanta front porch party" — "the most Algiers record that we've ever made," according to the band.

Of hard-hitting lead single "Irreversible Damage," bandleader Franklin James Fisher added: "The end of that song is the sound of joy. That's what hope sounds like in 2022 when everything's falling apart."

Listen to "Irreversible Damage" below, where you'll album find the full album tracklisting.


1. Everybody Shatter (feat. Big Rube)
2. Irreversible Damage (feat. Zack de la Rocha)
3. 73%
4. Cleanse Your Guilt Here
5. As It Resounds (feat. Big Rube)
6. Bite Back (feat. billy woods & Backxwash)
7. Out of Style Tragedy (feat. Mark Cisneros)
8. Comment #2
9. A Good Man
10. I Can't Stand It! (feat. Samuel T. Herring & Jae Matthews)
11. All You See Is
12. Green Iris
13. Born (feat. LaToya Kent)
14. Cold World (feat. Nadah El Shazly)
15. Something Wrong
16. An Echophonic Soul (feat. DeForrest Brown Jr. & Patrick Shiroishi)
17. Momentary (feat. Lee Bains III)

Pre-order Shook.

Latest Coverage