Al Tuck Preps 'Stranger at the Wake'

Al Tuck Preps 'Stranger at the Wake'
Al Tuck's discography spans almost 20 years, and his first album, Arhoolie, came out way back in 1994. This spring, the veteran Atlantic Canadian songwriter will add another disc to his venerable catalogue with Stranger at the Wake, due out May 14 on Cameron House Records.

The album is said to be a stylistically diverse collection that finds the songwriter branching out while at times channelling his classic sound. A press release notes, "A cappella gospel, wordy funk, stonesy rock'n'roll, epic country, Irishish folk, heart-tugging ballads, clairvoyant jazz — it's all here, held together by an unseen unifying strand, which just might be the truth itself."

Scroll past the tracklist below to stream the husky album cut "Five-O" and the Velvets-style blues number "Paid in the Middle of the Night."

Tuck said in a statement, "My last three records are absolutely going to stand. If you don't get them now, I hope you will soon. But by then it may be too late."

Tuck will launch the album with a release party at Toronto's Dakota Tavern on May 11.

Stranger at the Wake:

1. There Is a God (Part I)
2. There Is a War
3. Five-O
4. Asylum Square
5. There Is a God (Part II)
6. Stranger at the Wake
7. Two Muses Unopposed
8. We Didn't Dance
9. That Married Life
10. Let It Go (Over Yonder)
11. Paid in the Middle of the Night
12. There Is a God (Part III)
13. Walking by the River
14. Be Ready When He Comes
15. There Is a God (Part IV)