The Aggrolites Prep Debut For Hellcat/Epitaph

BY Keith CarmanPublished May 7, 2009

Self-proclaimed "dirty reggae" artists the Aggrolites have finally announced a release date for their fourth full-length effort courtesy of Hellcat/Epitaph Records. The cunningly titled IV will be available for you to skank on over and pick up as of June 9.

And what exactly is "dirty reggae," as opposed to what they infer is the "clean" stuff? - an esteemed website based out of their hometown of Los Angeles - fills us in. They note, "It's rock-steady with a punk-funk edge, with front-man Jesse Wagner's white-soul vocals and Roger Rivas's crazy organ lines giving it a party-or-die feel." They also assure us that, "Through sheer force of will (not to mention grooves so enticing you can't help but fall into them), this quintet simply command you to buy into their music."

As for IV, Hellcat informs us that it was self-produced and contains 21 original tunes, each of which is "a story of their determination and quest to spread soulful "dirty reggae" around the globe." The band have already posted first single "The Sufferer" on their MySpace page and at Hellcat's website.

As an aside, those of you on the west coast will be pleased to know the band have confirmed two Canadian dates thus far:

5/31 Victoria, BC - Element Nightclub
6/1 Vancouver, BC - The Plaza

Latest Coverage