Actress Details New Album 'Karma & Desire'

Sampha, Zsela, Aura T-09 and more feature on the record

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Sep 1, 2020

Having teased the effort's arrival in June, Actress has now detailed new album Karma & Desire. The producer's long-awaited LP will touch down October 23 through Ninja Tune.

The 17-track Karma & Desire features contributions from Sampha, Zsela, Vanessa Benelli Mosell, Aura T-09 and Christel Well. In a press release, Actress wrote that the album is "a romantic tragedy set between the heavens and the underworld" written around "the same sort of things that I like to talk about — love, death, technology, the questioning of one's being."

Actress had initially set Karma & Desire for a fall 2019 release, ahead of further teasing with the release of mixtape 88 this past June. Closing track "Walking Flames," which features Sampha and melodies from Kara-Lis Coverdale, can be heard below.

Karma & Desire follows 2017's AZD and the producer's 2018's collaboration with the London Contemporary Orchestra, LAGEOS.

Karma & Desire:

1. Fire and Light 
2. Angels Pharmacy (ft. Zsela) 
3. Remembrance (ft. Zsela) 
4. Reverend
5. Leaves Against the Sky 
6. Save
7. VVY (ft. Sampha)
8. XRAY 
9. Gliding Squares 
10. Many Seas, Many Rivers (ft. Sampha)
11. Loveless (ft. Aura T-09)
12. Public Life (ft. Vanessa Benelli Mosell)
13. Fret
14. Loose (ft. Christel Well) 
15. Turin (ft. Aura T-09) 
16. Diamond X 
17. Walking Flames (ft. Sampha)

Pre-order Karma & Desire.

Latest Coverage