The Acorn Detail 'Vieux Loup'

The Acorn Detail 'Vieux Loup'
The Acorn are back. It's been a few years since the Ottawa indie-folk band released an album, but following the recent single "Influence," we've now got the details surrounding their new full-length Vieux Loup. It will be out on May 19 through Paper Bag Records.

The group went on hiatus in 2011, and some of the band members branched out with the side-project Silkken Laumann. All the while, Acorn leader Rolf Klausener was writing songs, and he had three years' worth of material by 2014. An announcement describes the resulting eight songs as "[blending] 'valley soul' with experimental disco, analog noise and languid improvisations."

The album cover is above. See the tracklist below, and scroll past that to revisit the woozy, electronically inclined album track "Influence."

Vieux Loup is available to pre-order here on CD, white vinyl with black splatter, or in a vinyl bundle with the Acorn's 2007 EP Tin Fist. The bundle comes with two bonus tracks.

Vieux Loup:

1. Rapids
2. Palm Springs
3. In Silence
4. Influence
5. Cumin
6. Vieux Loup
7. Dominion 
8. Artefacts