​Radiohead's Philip Selway Details 'Let Me Go' Soundtrack, Shares Title Track

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Aug 17, 2017

Last year, Radiohead drummer Philip Selway revealed that he would be scoring Polly Steele's film Let Me Go, and now details for the upcoming project have been announced.
The soundtrack is due out digitally on September 15, the same day the movie hits theatres. A physical release is expected to follow on October 27 via Bella Union.

The soundtrack was recorded with Nick Moorbath at his Evolution studio in Oxford, UK, and string arrangements were done by Laura Moody.
As previously reported, the film tells the stories of four generations of women grappling with the traumatic after-effects of experiences during World War II. It's based on the memoir of Helga Schneider, and stars Juliet Stevensonb (Bend It Like BeckhamTruly Madly Deeply), Jodhi May (The Other Boleyn Girl), Lucy Boynton, Karin Bertling, Stanley Weber, Eva Magyar, Simona Hughes and Elizabeth Webster.

"I read [the script], and then Helga's memoir, and I was completely hooked," Selway said in a statement. "The script had so much depth, and tackled very powerful subjects. Polly and Lizzy [Pickering, co-producer] wanted their film to stay true to Helga's past, and to allow me the creative freedom to realise the emotional complexity of her story."

The project marks the musician's first foray into film scores, though he previously composed the music for a dance production. He has previously delivered recorded solo material, as well, most recently releasing his 2014 LP The Weatherhouse.
Selway's Radiohead bandmates are also keeping busy with film-related work; Thom Yorke is currently scoring a Suspiria remake, while Jonny Greenwood recently contributed to Lynne Ramsey's You Were Never Really Here and an as-yet-untitled Paul Thomas Anderson project.

In anticipation of the upcoming Let Me Go soundtrack release, Selway has shared the film's titular track. Listen to "Let Me Go" down below.

Let Me Go OST:

1. Helga's Theme
2. Wide Open
3. Mine
4. Zakopane
5. Walk
6. Snakecharmer
7. Mutti
8. Last Act
9. Le Me Go
10. Days And Nights
11. Don't Go Now (Elysian Quartet)
12. Let Me Go (Rhodes)
13. Necklace
14. Helga's Theme (Saw)

Latest Coverage