Philip Glass's 'Samurai Marathon' Score Gets Soundtrack Release

Philip Glass's 'Samurai Marathon' Score Gets Soundtrack Release
Bernard Rose's Samurai Marathon recently made its North American premiere at the New York Asian Film Festival, and release details for Philip Glass's accompanying original score have now been revealed.

An Amazon pre-order listing points to an August 16 CD release for the film's soundtrack through Orange Mountain Music, while Film Music Reporter points to a digital release on July 19.

Sixteen tracks in length, Glass's score for Samurai Marathon comprises excerpts of his work for Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters, Errol Morris's The Fog of War, Godfrey Reggio's Naqoyqatsi, and operas Akhnaten and Satyagraha. The selections were rerecorded by the the City of Prague Philharmonic, conducted by Richard Hein.

Samurai Marathon stars Takeru Satoh, Nana Komatsu Mirai Moriyama, Shota Sometani, Munetaka Aoki, Ryu Kohata, Yuta Koseki and Danny Huston. The film is slated to receive a wide release in North America next year.

Samurai Marathon: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:

1. New World – Yankee Doodle
2. Mishima: November 25: Morning
3. Naqoyqatsi: New World
4. Symphony No. 3: Movement IV
5. The Fog of War: 100,000 People
6. Mishima: Kyoko's House 
7. Mishima: Epilogue
8. Mishima: 1937 Saint Sebastian 
9. Symphony No. 2: Movement I 
10. Violin Concerto No. 1: Movement III 
11. Satyagraha, Act II, Scene 3: Protest 
12. Mishima: Epilogue (Brass Version)
13. Mishima: Temple of the Golden Pavilion
14. The Fog of War: Return from Vietnam 
15. Symphony No. 8: Movement III 
16. Akhnaten: Funeral of Amenhotep III