Arcade Fire's Richard Reed Perry Readies New Soundtrack Release for 'The Nest'

The film by Sean Durkin stars Jude Law and Carrie Coon
Arcade Fire's Richard Reed Perry Readies New Soundtrack Release for 'The Nest'
Once again, we're getting another solo effort out of Arcade Fire. This time, it's a new soundtrack by the group's Richard Reed Parry, who will be releasing his score to The Nest.

As previously reported, the film was written, directed and produced by Sean Durkin, with the starring roles taken on by Jude Law and Carrie Coon. Following its Sundance premiere earlier this year, the film is set to arrive on September 18 via IFC Films, and on that same day, Perry will release his soundtrack via Milan Records.

In a statement, Parry explained the following:

When I watched the very first rough cut of The Nest without any music, I could feel right away what I wanted the score to be: Music that sounded like it was written and played somewhere within the massive old manor house that so much of the film centres around…. I am very grateful to my fantastic musical collaborators, and for Sean Durkin's trust in my own intuitive musical process and the artistic space and freedom he gave me to explore the musical landscape of his film.

Durkin added:

Long before Richard was the composer for the film I was listening to his Music for Heart and Breath album while writing the script, so for him to come on to the project was very exciting for me. It's been an incredible collaboration working with him. He's created a stunning score that captures the atmosphere and emotion I wanted the film to encompass.

You can watch the trailer for The Nest below.

An abstract for The Nest reads, "Driven by superb performances and a masterfully crafted aesthetic unease, Sean Durkin's second feature contemplates the corrosive value system of the 1980s and its human toll, as it spreads like a sickness nobody realized was there."

In addition to Perry's soundtrack, Arcade Fire drummer Jeremy Gara is releasing his new solo album Passerine Finale on September 11 via Invada Records. The band's Will Butler  sophomore solo record Generations on September 25 through Merge Records.

The Nest (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack):

1. Drone Beast

2. Symphony Brew

3. Base Motives

4. Murky Half

5. What We've Always Wanted

6. Base Motives II

7. New Descent

8. The House

9. Dark Tumbling

10. Drone Beast: UK

11. Symphony Brew Redux

12. Slow Descent

13. Drone Beast: In the Air