Swingin' Utters Reveal 'Fistful of Hollow'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Aug 26, 2014

It wasn't so long ago that Swingin' Utters issued their 2013 album Poorly Formed, but the Bay Area punk outfit are already back with another full-length. Fistful of Hollow, the band's ninth long-player, arrives November 11 through Fat Wreck Chords.

The 15-track effort was recorded with engineer Chris Dugan (Green Day, Iggy Pop) at Oakland's JingleTown facility and is described in a press release as featuring the group's classic approach to punk mixed with an "eclectic mix of sounds," including folk, country, garage rock and honky-tonk.

Adding extra diversity, bassist Miles Peck contributed to songwriting sessions for the first time, working together with vocalist Johnny "Peebucks" Bonnel. It's as yet unclear which of the tracks they co-wrote, but there are four Peck/Bonnel collaborations on Fistful of Hollow.

"It just so happened that Miles and Johnny got on a bit of a co-writing tear, which was pretty interesting as Miles has never done any writing for the Utters," guitarist Darius Koski explained in a statement. "I wouldn't have been able to tell you where Miles was going to come from, from a composition standpoint. The result was pretty fantastic. I think the four songs they wrote together are highlights of the record, and really give it a unique vibe."

Bonnel added, "Collaborating on art has got to be one of the most gratifying things for me. I'm surrounded by truly unique and interesting brains in the Swingin' Utters."

Fistful of Hollow:

1. Alice
2. Fistful of Hollow
3. Tell Them Told You So
4. From the Towers to the Tenements
5. Napalm South
6. More Or Less Moral
7. I'm Not Coming Home
8. Spanish
9. Tibetan Book of the Damned
10. Agonist
11. We Are Your Garbage
12. Tonight's Moons
13. No Talking
14. Unaffected
15. End of the Weak

Latest Coverage