Yann Tiersen Announces Solo Piano Album

Yann Tiersen Announces Solo Piano Album
French composer Yann Tiersen took a bit of home with him into the recording studio for his latest album, Eusa. Inspired by life on the French island of Ushant, the instrumental LP hits stores this September through Mute.

Tiersen's next full-length, which follows 2014's , comprises 10 solo piano pieces. Each of these is related to a specific region of Ushant, on which Tiersen lives. While the recordings were completed at London's Abbey Road studio, the sessions also feature "a field recording from the exact spot referred to in [each] piece of music."

"Ushant is more than just a home — it's a part of me," Tiersen explained in a statement. "The idea was to make a map of the island and, by extension, a map of who I am. To begin with I chose ten locations on the island and made a series of field recordings at each of them. The pieces of piano music I then went on to write are named after these locations, and the sheet music for each piece is accompanied by a GPS coordinate and a photograph of the site taken by Emilie Quinquis."

Below, you'll find a trailer for Eusa, which features a piano being delivered to the coordinates of Ushant's Porz Goret region. There, you'll also find a video of Tiersen performing the piece.

You can also explore more sounds from the album over here.


1. Pern
2. Porz Goret
3. Lok Gweltaz
4. Penn Ar Roc'h
5. Kereon
6. Yuzin
7. Roc'h Ar Vugale
8. Penn Ar Lann
9. Enez Nein
10. Kadoran