Woodpigeon Announce 'For Paolo' EP

Woodpigeon Announce 'For Paolo' EP
It's been a couple of years since Woodpigeon released their album Die Stadt Muzikanten in early 2010. And while we still don't know when their next LP will arrive, we've now got some information about a stopgap EP that will help to tide fans over. Entitled For Paolo, it will be out digitally via January 24 via Boompa Records.

The EP includes four tracks, including two different versions of the titular tune. One of those versions (the non-"Acoustic" one) has been given a grainy black and white video, which you can watch at the bottom of the page.

Four of the songs were laid down at the Banff Centre, with additional recording taking place in New York and Calgary, and different engineers helped out with each track. The songs were inspired by the music that frontman Mark Hamilton's parents listened to on road trips. He explained in a statement:

My parents were always the type to find an artist and album they liked and then listen to it non-stop in the car for years. It's these tapes which, whether I liked them at the time or not, formed an undeniable part of my musical DNA: Carole King, Falco, a truck-stop hits of the 1960s compilation. The songs of the For Paolo EP are a valentine of sorts to those old cassettes of my parents -- I'd like to think there's more than just a dash of Fleetwood Mac's "Tango in the Night" in the title track, a little bit of girly one-hit wonder in "One to Many." But then again, whenever I think I'm getting pretty close at sounding one way, I'm the only one who hears it -- so you'll have to excuse the thought that there's a little bit of Boys Don't Cry's "I Wanna Be a Cowboy" and Iron Butterfly mixed in here somewhere too.

The press release notes that "For Paolo will kick off a busy 2012 for Woodpigeon," so hopefully this means that we'll get a new album and some tour dates before long.

For Paolo:

1. "For Paolo"
2. "Are You There, God? It's Me, Mark"
3. "Winnebago"
4. "By Lamplight"
5. "One to Many"
6. "For Paolo (Acoustic)"

Woodpigeon - For Paolo from Boompa Records on Vimeo.