Willis Earl Beal Announces 'Nobody Knows' LP, Gets Cat Power to Guest

Willis Earl Beal Announces 'Nobody Knows' LP, Gets Cat Power to Guest
Experimental Chicago lo-fi pop guy Willis Earl Beal is apparently all set to follow up his 2012 breakthrough Acousmatic Sorcery with another LP, titled Nobody Knows. The record drops on CD and double LP on September 10 in North America and a day earlier overseas via Hot Charity/XL.

A press release notes that the LP was recorded "everywhere and nowhere," with Beal himself handling the production duties, though under the guise of "Nobody." "I want to be a shadow, not the man casting it," he said in a statement. "That's who 'Nobody' is."

While a tracklisting has yet to be unveiled, the record apparently delivers anything from "orchestral blues to ambient R&B, and gentle lullabies to pure cacophony," all of which supporting the "soul baring vocals" of Beal. You can sample eerily minimalist soul piece "Everything Unwinds" down below and check out the album cover above.

Beal has some overseas dates booked in September, which you can find out more about here.

UPDATE: Below, you can now see the tracklist, which you'll notice features Chan Marshall (a.k.a. Cat Power) on the track "Coming Through."

Nobody Knows:

1. Wavering Lines
2. Coming Through (ft. Chan Marshall)
3. Everything unwinds.
4. Burning Bridges
5. Disintegrating
6. Too Dry Too Cry
7. What's the deal?
8. Ain't Got No Love
9. White Noise
10. Hole in the Roof
11. Blue Escape
12. Nobody knows.
13. The Flow