White Lung Return with Final Album 'Premonition,' Share Two New Songs

The Vancouver trio's farewell album is about "motherhood, pregnancy and growth"

BY Kaelen BellPublished Sep 20, 2022

White Lung are back after nearly seven years with the announcement of Premonition, their fifth and, according to the band, final album. It's arriving December 2 on Domino, and alongside the announcement, the trio have shared two monstrous new songs called "Date Night" and "Tomorrow." 

According to bandleader Mish Barber-Way, Premonition was inspired by "motherhood, pregnancy and growth." "Date Night" sees Barber-Way on a date with God, a "nihilistic bad boy drunk-driving her through a blazing Los Angeles on the way out of town."

"I felt like that part of my life was expiring, so I was projecting those angry and scared feelings out onto the city of L.A. because it's safe and comfortable to live in your anger instead of being self-reflective," Barber-Way said in a statement about the song. 
Of the equally pummelling "Tomorrow," Barber-Way said, "'Tomorrow' is the song I wrote when I found out I was pregnant. There was a very serious understanding that life would be different forever and I was relieved to welcome that change."

White Lung's last album was 2016's Paradise
Listen to "Date Night" and "Tomorrow," and check out the Premonition tracklist below. 


1. Hysteric
2. Date Night
3. Tomorrow
4. Under Glass
5. Mountain
6. If You're Gone
7. Girl
8. Bird
9. One Day
10. Winter

Pre-order Premonition.

Latest Coverage