Warpaint Announce 'Heads Up' Album

Warpaint Announce 'Heads Up' Album
L.A. post-punks Warpaint ran into some trouble when they recently started teasing new music, as Nothing insinuated that the promo campaign was pilfered. Now, Warpaint are moving past that little bump in the road by formally announcing their new LP. The record is called Heads Up, and it will be out on September 23 through Rough Trade.

This is the band's third full-length, and they announced it by sharing a new song called, um, "New Song." It's a pop-friendly number with an insistent dance beat and atmospheric production touches.

In a press release, Warpaint cited Janet Jackson, Björk, Kendrick Lamar and Outkast as influences on the new record. It was captured with returning producer Jacob Bercovici at home, in the band's their House on the Hill studio in L.A., and at Papap's Palace. Instead of recording as a full group, as they had in the past, they laid down parts individually or in pairs.

Drummer Stella Mozgawa said in a statement, "The doors were a little more open in terms of what was accepted and what wasn't, because we were sharing ideas so rapidly between us. The roles that each of us individually had — or had established — were a little more malleable."

Bassist Jenny Lee Lindberg said, "Everybody was allowed to have their space, time and creative freedom with songs and figure out, 'I wonder what the best notes would be? I wonder what the best part would be to play? Everybody got to sit and go, 'What do I want to do on this? What's my part? What's my role? How can I make it the best?'"

That's the album cover for Heads Up above. The 11-song tracklist is below. The album is available to pre-order from various digital retailers, and physical copies are available from Rough Trade's online store. This includes a deluxe double vinyl package that contains one pink LP, one black LP, a 7-inch, and a packet of flower seeds.

Heads Up:

1. White Out
2. By Your Side
3. New Song
4. The Stall
5. So Good
6. Don't Wanna
7. Don't Let Go
8. Dre
9. Heads Up
10. Above Control
11. Today Dear