Wampire Sign to Polyvinyl for 'Curiosity'

Wampire Sign to Polyvinyl for 'Curiosity'
Polyvinyl Records is set to drop Portland synth-pop players Starfucker's Miracle Mile LP next month, but that won't be the only Oregonian act releasing material through the imprint this year. It's been announced that Starfucker's pals Wampire have joined the Polyvinyl family to issue a 7-inch, as well as their debut LP Curiosity.

A press release confirms that the partnership begins March 5 with the release of a two-song single featuring Curiosity cut "The Hearse" and a cover of Kraftwerk's "Das Modell." You can stream both songs below.

As for the album, which hits retailers sometime in May, it was recorded last August with Unknown Mortal Orchestra bassist Jacob Portrait behind the boards. The duo of Rocky Tinder and Eric Phipps apparently brought a bunch of song fragments to the table, and rearranged the compositions in the studio, often improvising on the spot.

The nine-song record is apparently a diverse set that homes in on electronic organs, whistling and driving beats. "Trains," meanwhile, is described as "Motown-meets-Strokes," and Tinder said in a statement that the track is "sexy, sounds huge, and by all means should be blamed for future babies."


1. The Hearse
2. Orchards
3. Spirit Forest
4. Giants
5. I Can't See Why
6. Outta Money
7. Trains
8. Snacks
9. Magic Light