Wampire Announce 'Bazaar'

Wampire Announce 'Bazaar'
It's scarcely been a year since Wampire issued their Polyvinyl Records debut Curiosity, but if you're interested in sinking your teeth into another collection from the Portland indie pop outfit, you're in luck. The band have announced they'll put their Bazaar out into the marketplace October 7.

A press release notes that the new record came in the wake of the outfit's 12-month promo cycle behind Curiosity, during which time the core duo of songwriters Rocky Tinder and Eric Phipps expanded the live lineup into a five-piece band. After having prepped new tunes on the road, the return back to Portland marked an even busier songwriting period.

"I holed up in a tiny room within a friend's warehouse and began knocking out as many different songs as I could," Phipps confessed in a statement. "I tried not to look back, just wanting to explore everything I could possibly create. I started to feel like I was becoming a Kafka-esque insomniac musical novelist at one point."

Tracked out at Brooklyn studio the Museum with Unknown Mortal Orchestra's Jacob Portrait, the album found Tinder and Phipps bringing touring drummer Thomas Hoganson onboard for the songwriting process. In addition to beats, Hoganson also contributed piano and saxophone during the recording sessions.

Described as "disarmingly off-kilter pop," Wampire's latest is said to likewise supply "raucous riffs" for "Bad Attitude" and "charmingly catchy choruses" on ""The Amazing Heart Attack." The first preview from the set is smoothed-out soft rock cut "Wizard Staff," which is marked with sax-blasting sensuality and after-sunset synth lines.

You'll find a stream of the song beneath the tracklist.


1. The Amazing Heart Attack
2. Bad Attitude
3. Fly on the Wall
4. Wizard Staff
5. Too Stoned
6. Millennials
7. Sticking Out
8. Life of Luxury
9. People of Earth