Vince Guaraldi's 'Definitive' Works Get Vinyl Box Set

Vince Guaraldi's 'Definitive' Works Get Vinyl Box Set
It's already fairly easy to find a vinyl copy of Vince Guaraldi's holiday classic A Charlie Brown Christmas, but for fans who are looking for a more expansive look into the jazz pianist's oeuvre, the compilation The Definitive Vince Guaraldi will be out on October 16 via Fantasy Records as a four-LP box set.

The package originally come out in 2009 as a two-CD package. It goes well beyond Guaraldi's Peanuts material, as the first five vinyl sides are made up of selections from his many albums and include covers of notable tunes like "Moon River," "Days of Wine and Roses" and "The Girl from Ipanema." The final three vinyl sides consist mostly of Peanuts selections, including a handful of Christmas numbers. See the 31-song tracklist down below.

It's all being pressed on 180-gram wax. The box comes with a 16-page booklet, liner notes from jazz historian Doug Ramsey, a 12-inch by 24-inch poster, and a reproduction of a promotional cutout from the 1960s featuring a wearable Guaraldi moustache.

The Definitive Vince Guaraldi can be pre-ordered from Elusive Disc for $124.99 USD ($166.29 CAD).

Modern Vinyl points out that this isn't the only Guaraldi release getting a vinyl pressing this fall. Peanuts Greatest Hits will be out on September 4 and can be pre-ordered here, while an Elusive Disc listing reveals that Charlie Brown's Holiday Hits will be getting its first vinyl pressing on October 9 and includes selections from a variety of seasonal TV specials. That tracklist is also below.

The Definitive Vince Guaraldi:

LP 1:

A1. Calling Dr. Funk
A2. Fascinating Rhythm
A3. Never Never Land
A4. Fenwyck's Farfel
B1. A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing
B2. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
B3. Samba de Orpheus
B4. Cast Your Fate to the Wind

LP 2:

C1. Manha de Carnaval
C2. Moon River
C3. Jitterbug Waltz
D1. On Green Dolphin Street
D2. Star Song
D3. Days of Wine and Roses
D4. Mr. Lucky

LP 3:

E1. Corcovado
E2. Work Song
E3. Ginza Samba
E4. The Girl from Ipanema
F1. El Matador
F2. Oh, Good Grief
F3. Linus & Lucy
F4. Charlie Brown Theme
F5. The Great Pumpkin Waltz
F6. Thanksgiving Theme

LP 4:

G1. Christmas Is Coming
G2. Christmas Time Is Here
G3. Skating
G4. Theme to Grace
H1. Autumn Leaves
H2. Blues for Peanuts

Charlie Brown's Holiday Hits:

A1. Joe Cool
A2. Surfin' Snoopy
A3. Heartburn Waltz
A4. Track Meet
A5. Camptown Races
A6. Oh, Good Grief
A7. Charlie Brown Theme
B1. Schroeder
B2. Charlie's Blues
B3. The Great Pumpkin Waltz
B4. Thanksgiving Theme
B5. Linus and Lucy
B6. Christmas Time is Here (Vocal)
B7. Christmas Time is Here (Instrumental)