Vancouver's Hidden Towers Announce Debut for Defiled Under: Music

Vancouver's Hidden Towers Announce Debut for Defiled Under: Music
This fall, Vancouver label File Under: Music launched its punk/metal branch called Defiled Under: Music with an album from Angry. Now, the label is back with release number two: Olympus Mons by heavy music genre-fusers Hidden Towers.

Marking the band's debut album, it will arrive January 8 and was recorded at Rain City Records with Jesse Karr. The record features the core lineup of Chris Cantrell (vocals/guitar) and Ben Holland (bass), accompanied by drummer Jakub Svoboda.

A press release notes that the album draws from "bigger-than-life classic metal, '70s jazz fusion, space rock and post-hardcore," resulting in a multi-faceted sound despite the minimal setup. Get a taste of the group's unique sound by streaming the songs "Gleaming the Cube" and "Son of the Dragon" below.

Hidden Towers will launch the album with a release party at the Waldorf in Vancouver on January 10. After that, they will embark upon a mini-tour of Western Canada with shows in Kelowna, Calgary and Edmonton. Scroll past the seven-song tracklist to see the schedule.

Olympus Mons:

1. Smoke Cloud
2. Gleaming the Cube
3. Son Of The Dragon
4. Gainsford, AB (Cup of Blood)
5. Nobody Knew How High She'd Get
6. Comoving Distance
7. Drowning in the Baptismal Font

Tour dates:

1/10 Vancouver, BC - The Waldorf
1/17 Kelowna, BC - TBA
1/18 Calgary, AB - Broken City
1/19 Edmonton, AB - Wunderbar