Ufomammut Return with 'Ecate' LP

Ufomammut Return with 'Ecate' LP
Murmurings of a new record from veteran prog- and sludge-flavoured Italian outfit Ufomammut have been floating around since late in 2014, and the group have now given up the details behind their latest full-length release. Dubbed Ecate, it arrives March 31 in North America through Neurot Recordings, while landing in Germany on March 27 and in Europe on March 30.

Named after ancient god Ecate (a.k.a. Hecate) — described in a press release as "the three-sided goddess who moves between the realms of the living, the dead, and the gods" — the album is said to showcase the telepathic link between band members Poia (guitars/synths), Urlo (bass/synths) and Vita (drums) that allows them to deliver the doomy goods.

The six-song set is Ufomammut's seventh full-length studio effort, and it follows 2012's Oro: Opus Alter and Oro: Opus Primum. The album was recorded in the fall of 2014 at the band's rehearsal room in Sarezzano, Italy.

The first of a series of video trailers leading up to the release of Ecate shows the band starting up the recording sessions and describing their M.O. for the LP. You'll find the informational clip, which also features some moaning audio previews, down below.


1. Somnium
2. Plouton
3. Chaosecret
4. Temple
5. Revelation
6. Daemon