Triptykon Detail 'Melana Chasmata'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Feb 7, 2014

Swiss metal unit Triptykon's have unveiled all of the gloomy details behind their impending Melana Chasmata release, from the tracklisting down to its creeped-out HR Giger artwork.

An update from the band confirms that the LP, due April 15 in North America and a day earlier overseas through Prowling Death Records Ltd./Century Media, will include nine new metal tunes described as "diverse, epic, and doomy." This includes previously hinted at tracks like "Demon Pact" and "Tree of Suffocating Souls," as well as the newly revealed "Altar of Deceit," "In the Sleep of Death" and more.

Though details are slim, the band also reported that they have more material recorded than that which appears on Melana Chasmata and to expect "an EP or mini album" to be issued later in the year.

As for Melana Chasmata, while samples have yet to arrive from the set, a limited-edition 7-inch containing the LP's "Breathing" and "Boleskine House" will be delivered March 17. The tracks are expected to pop up on YouTube and SoundCloud sometime soon.

The album will arrive in various formats, including a "32-page Mediabook" (featuring lyrics, liner notes and a foldout poster), a gatefold LP, digitally and as a limited-edition box set. That deluxe package, limited to 2,000 copies, will include the new album, a silver pendant, a poster, postcards, a Triptykon tote bag and a cap.

Up above, you'll find the cover art, which utilizes Swiss surrealist painter Giger's 1975 piece "Mordor VII." Additionally, his "Landschaft XVI" painting will be shown on the inside of the gatefold package. This is the third time the artist has worked with Triptykon leader Tom G. Warrior, having contributed art to the band's debut album Eparistera Daimones and Warrior's old band Celtic Frost's landmark 1985 LP To Mega Therion.

As previously reported, Melana Chasmata was recorded by guitarist V. Santura at his Woodshed Studio in Bavaria, Germany, as well as at Triptykon's "bunker" in Zurich. Santura and Warrior are sharing the production duties. The sophomore set is further described as "vastly varied and strikingly dark" and was purportedly not an easy album for the outfit to make.

"It's not an easy album by any means, and to me personally it reflects an extremely complex gestation period, musically, spiritually, and, due to certain circumstances in my life, emotionally," Warrior had previously revealed. "At the same time, the album unquestionably reflects the continuity I was longing for so much during Celtic Frost's period of self-destruction and demise. Hearing Triptykon creating such utter darkness again and exploring the potential of these new songs has been incredibly invigorating and inspiring."

Read an interview with Triptykon's Tom G. Warrior here.

Melana Chasmata:

1. Tree Of Suffocating Souls

2. Boleskine House

3. Altar Of Deceit

4. Breathing

5. Aurorae

6. Demon Pact

7. In The Sleep Of Death

8. Black Snow

9. Waiting

Latest Coverage