Toronto's Vallens Announce Sophomore Album 'In Era'

Watch their new video for "If I Don't"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Feb 4, 2021

Toronto's gothy art-pop outfit Vallens are releasing their sophomore album In Era through Hand Drawn Dracula on March 19, and today, they're offering up a new single and video to mark the occasion.

As Vallens mastermind Robyn Phillips described the single: "If I had to pick one song to show to someone and say 'This is how we sound now,' I think that encapsulates it best."

The track — titled "If I Don't" — arrives alongside a haunting Allison Johnston-directed music video. You can watch that below.

As for their new record, Phillips explained: "It's largely about a transitional time in someone's life where they have ended an era of their life and can see the next one forming but are floating in between two things."

The release marks the first from the Toronto band since 2016's Consent LP. Back in 2018, they also shared their Dimmed in My Display EP.

In Era:

1. In Era
2. While You Are Still Waiting
3. Ingrid
4. Sheer
5. Difference Repeating
6. Old Flame
7. Come Home
8. If I Don't
9. Opaque Undertow
10. Sin So Vain

Pre-order In Era

Latest Coverage