Toronto's No Frills Detail Debut Album 'Downward Dog'

Maddy Wilde, Matt Buckberrough, Daniel Busheikin and Jon Pappo's long-awaited full-length arrives in April

Photo: Andrew McGill

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jan 12, 2022

Members of Grounders, Twist, Rapport and Hooded Fang — the Toronto indie rock four-piece known collectively as No Frills — have announced their long-awaited debut LP Downward Dog. The album is due to arrive on April 1, and now we're getting a sneak peek with a new single.

"I Don't Wanna Be Your Dog Anymore" — inspired by Iggy Pop's "I Wanna Be Your Dog" — marks the third of 14 tracks to arrive from the effort, which was written and recorded as an early-pandemic project. Previously shared tracks include "Ice Cream Cone" and "Drip."

The album follows No Frills' 2018 EP, Nice to Meet You, which contained breakthrough tune "Vegetable Tray."

Hear lead single "I Don't Wanna Be Your Dog Anymore" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting and trailer.

Downward Dog:

1. Welcome...!
2. Save the Bees
3. Ice Cream Cone
4. Darkhorse
5. Drip
6. Copy Cat
7. I Don't Wanna Be Your Dog Anymore
8. Thrasher
9. Common Folk
10. New Medication
11. Down for the Count
12. Terrycloth and Dirt
13. Everything Will Become Better
14. Pancake

Latest Coverage