Toots and the Maytals Detail First Album in 10 Years 'Got to Be Tough'

Listen to the forthcoming record's title track

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 15, 2020

After nearly 60 years of performing, Toots and the Maytals have announced plans for a new record titled Got to Be Tough. Their first release in 10 years will arrive on August 28 via Trojan Jamaica/BMG.

Amid ongoing political strife, the band hope to inspire change with their forthcoming album. Got to Be Tough is a call to action and a reminder to stay strong for the cause.

"This album is speaking out about injustices while pointing to a better time," frontman Frederick Hibbert told Rolling Stone of the record. "This album is teaching a path to recovery and step to better days on the journey ahead. This album Got to Be Tough is a bind builder of positive objectives."

Got to Be Tough follows the band's latest release, 2010's Flip and Twist.

Today, Toots and the Maytals have shared the record's title track. Listen to "Got to Be Tough" below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

Got to Be Tough:

1. Drop Off Head
2. Just Brutal
3. Got to Be Tough
4. Freedom Train
5. Warning Warning
6. Good Thing That You Call
7. Stand Accuse
8. Three Little Birds feat. Ziggy Marley
9. Having a Party
10. Struggle

Pre-order Got to Be Tough.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage