Tom Jones Announces New Album 'Surrounded by Time'

Watch a video for its first single "Taking Reality Television Blues"
Tom Jones Announces New Album 'Surrounded by Time'
Tom Jones is headed back our way with a new album. Called Surrounded by Time, the record will arrive on April 23 via S-Curve Records. Alongside the announcement is the record's first single, "Taking Reality Television Blues," which has been fitted with its own video.

The song traces the history and impact of the television, with Jones stating, "I was there when TV started — didn't know I'd become a part of it — but it could be that its power is to remind us how wonderful, crazy and inventive we are, but also how scary the reality it reflects can be."

You can watch the "Taking Reality Television Blues" below.

As for Surrounded by Time, the album was co-produced by Ethan Johns and Mark Woodward, and according to a press release, it "marks out new territory with a sonic landscape of outstanding musicianship and a vocal delivery that re-imagines a diverse set of songs of personal importance that have impacted the artist throughout a long, unpredictable but undeniably impressive career."

As you'll see in the tracklist below, the album features songs written by Bob Dylan, Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam, Terry Callier, Michel Legrand and others.

Surrounded by Time:

1. I Won't Crumble With You If You Fall (Bernice Johnson Reagon)
2. The Windmills Of Your Mind (Michel Legrand/Alan & Marilyn Bergman)
3. Popstar (Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam)
4. No Hole In My Head (Malvina Reynolds)
5. Talking Reality Television Blues (Todd Snider)
6. I Won't Lie (Michael Kiwanuka & Paul Butler)
7. This is the Sea (Michael Scott)
8. One More Cup Of Coffee (Bob Dylan)
9. Samson And Delilah (Tom Jones, Ethan Johns, Mark Woodward)
10. Old Mother Earth (Tony Joe White)
11. I'm Growing Old (Bobby Cole)
12. Lazurus Man (Terry Callier)