Todd Rundgren, Lindstrøm & Emil Nikolaisen Detail Collaborative LP

Todd Rundgren, Lindstrøm & Emil Nikolaisen Detail Collaborative LP
Last year, we learned that American rock vet Todd Rundgren, Norwegian electronic producer Lindstrøm and alt-rock songwriter Emil Nikolaisen (of Norway's Serena-Maneesh) were linking up for a joint album. We expected Runddans to come out last summer, and while that didn't come to pass, the record is now slated for May 5 on Smalltown Supersound.

Interestingly, the album consists of a single 39-minute track broken up into 12 parts and spread across four sides of vinyl. It's coming out under the very simple band name Todd Rundgren/Hans-Peter Lindstrøm/Emil Nikolaisen.

According to a press release, the record is "a spiritual magnum opus that stands alongside Rundgren's most worshipped trippy albums of the '70s, fusing his blue eyed soul with Lindstrom's disco epics and Emil Nikolaisen's studio trickery into a cosmic mix of soul, synth, pop and disco."

It was born out of improvised sessions in Oslo in 2012, with the collaborators eventually added melodies, vocals and lyrics.

Scroll past the tracklist below to watch an interview with Rundgren about the project. There are some short snippets of music in the video.

A digital version of the album can be ordered here.


A1. B for Birth
A2. Liquid Joy from the Womb of Infinity
A3. Oppad, Over Skyene
B1. Solus
B2. Put Your Arms Around Me
B3. Altar of Kauaian Six String (Todd's Solo)
C1. Out of My Head (Lone Vibes)
C2. Rundt Rundt Rundt
C3. Wave of Heavy Red (Disko-Nektar)
D1. T.H.E. Golden Triangle (Dry Mouthed Gargoyles in a Fountain of Fluorescent Shepard Tones)
D2. Ravende Gal (Full Circle)
D3. Ohr..Um..Am..Amen (Aftermath)