The Jesus and Mary Chain Return with New Album 'Glasgow Eyes'

Watch a video for 'jamcod' ahead of the album's March arrival

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Nov 29, 2023

The New Year will mark four decades of music-making for the Jesus and Mary Chain, and the anniversary celebrations will also see brothers Jim and William Reid deliver a new album. The Scottish outfit will release Glasgow Eyes on March 8 via Fuzz Club.

Twelve tracks in length, Glasgow Eyes arrives just shy of six years on from 2017's Damage and Joy — which marked the Jesus and Mary Chain's first new LP in 19 years.

Recorded at Mogwai's Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow, UK, the sound of JAMC's eighth full-length is said to be "informed deeper by their love for Suicide and Kraftwerk as well as a new-found passion for the spontaneous side of the jazz spectrum."

"Hopefully people will expect a Jesus and Mary Chain record, and that's certainly what Glasgow Eyes is," Jim Reid shares of the record in a statement. "Our creative approach is remarkably the same as it was in 1984, just hit the studio and see what happens. We went in with a bunch of songs and let it take its course. There are no rules, you just do whatever it takes. And there's a telepathy there — we are those weird not-quite twins that finish each other's sentences."

Ahead of the LP's 2024 arrival, dynamic first single "jamcod" can be heard in the player below alongside a music video, its blissed-out, electronic-tinged verses punctuated by bursts of boisterous, overdriven guitar.

The Jesus and Mary Chain have also mapped out a tour of Europe around the time of the album's release. Until a North American run is revealed, you can find those EU dates via the band's official website.

Glasgow Eyes:

1. Venal Joy
2. American Born
3. Mediterranean X Film
4. jamcod
5. Discotheque
6. Pure Poor
7. The Eagles and the Beatles
8. Silver Strings
9. Chemical Animal
10. Second of June
11. Girl 71
12. Hey Lou Reid

Latest Coverage