The Get Up Kids Announce New Album 'Problems'

Check out "Satellite" from the band's first LP in eight years
The Get Up Kids Announce New Album 'Problems'
After returning with their Kicker EP last year, the Get Up Kids have shared the details behind their first new full-length album in eight years.

Titled Problems, the record is set to arrive May 10 through Dine Alone/Polyvinyl. Twelve tracks in length, the album was produced by Peter Katis (Kurt Vile, the National).

Problems is said to examine "everything from life-changing loss to loneliness to the inevitable anxiety of existing in 2019." Alongside the announcement, the band have shared opener "Satellite" and an accompanying video directed by Kerstin Ebert.

"I started writing 'Satellite' about my son who's 14 and a total introvert — not antisocial, he just genuinely likes to keep to himself," guitarist/vocalist Matt Pryor explained in a statement. "But then somewhere down the line I started singing about myself — about how even when you're playing a show to a room full of people, I can still feel anxious and isolated."

Of her accompanying visuals, Ebert offered, "The feeling of being isolated in a big city can be depressing. But instead of making this a sad story, I added a cardboard man named Hank to the storyline — a guy who lives like a normal human being amongst 8 million other people in New York City. Even though Hank's adventurous ambitions as well as his facial expressions are very limited, he is the heart of the story and the biggest dreamer of all." 

Problems is available for pre-order here.


1. Satellite 
2. The Problem Is Me
3. Salina
4. Now Or Never
5. Lou Barlow
6. Fairweather Friends
7. Common Ground
8. Waking Up Alone
9. The Advocate
10. Symphony of Silence
11. Brakelines
12. Your Ghost Is Gone