The Courtneys' Courtney Garvin Is Releasing an Album as Gum Country

Watch a video for the title track from 'Somewhere'
The Courtneys' Courtney Garvin Is Releasing an Album as Gum Country
When she's not the titular Courtney of the Courtneys, Courtney Garvin also makes music fronting the band Gum Country. They've now just announced the arrival of a new full-length.

Called Somewhere, the 12-track effort by Garvin and her Gum Country bandmate Connor Mayer will be released on June 19 via Kingfisher Bluez/Burger Records/Dinosaur City/Waterslide

Before Somewhere is released in full, you can watch the video for its title track below.

In a statement, Garvin offered the following:

I wrote 'Somewhere' a couple years after moving to L.A. It's about leaving a place that you are comfortable in and landing in a strange new one, and discovering what parts of your identity remain and which were left behind. The first line I wrote was 'haven't felt this way in a while, I can't think straight can't hide my smile, I guess this is gonna be my life for a while,' and then it was just a process of unravelling that thought. I think the song could be about the range of emotions that come with any big change, and ultimately settling on a mellow excitement for vulnerability.


1. Somewhere
2. The Queen Rules
3. Tennis (I Feel Ok)
4. There's A Crumb
5. I Don't Stay Up
6. Pills
7. Brain Song
8. It Lives It Breeds It Feeds
9. Whoa Oh
10. Talking To My Plants
11. Jungle Boy
12. Waterfall