Talib Kweli Details 'Gravitas' Album, Taps Raekwon, Dilla and More

Talib Kweli Details 'Gravitas' Album, Taps Raekwon, Dilla and More
As previously reported, long-running underground rapper Talib Kweli is planning to follow up his first LP of 2013, Prisoner of Conscious, with a self-released new disc called Gravitas later this month. Now, he's shared more details for the project.

The 11-song project won't feature production from Q-Tip like originally thought, but it does have some heavy-hitters contributing beats. They include Statik Selektah, Oh No, Khrysis, Lord Quest, Thaddeus Dixon, Rich Kidd, 6th Sense and the beloved late production legend J Dilla.

There are also some guests outside of the producer chair, with featured performers including Raekwon, Black Thought, Rah Digga, Mike Posner, the Underachievers and guitar whiz Gary Clark Jr. among others.

Kweli will self-release Gravitas on December 15. He previously described the project with the following statement:

When you pre order my newest project, Gravitas, available Dec 15th, you will be buying it directly from me, no middleman, and I will now have a direct relationship with you. Who needs this industry when we have each other. The technology exists for me to have this relationship with the fans, and vice versa. It is a grand experiment. Lets go for it!

Pre-order Gravitas here, and check out the Oh No-assisted single "The Wormhole" below.


1. Inner Monologue (produced by Khrysis)
2. Demonology (ft. Gary Clark Jr.) (produced by Lord Quest)
3. State of Grace (ft. Abby Dobson) (produced by Lord Quest)
4. Violations (ft. Raekwon) (produced by Thaddeus Dixon)
5. Rare Portraits (produced by Oh No)
6. New Leaders (ft. UnderAchievers) (produced by Statik Selektah)
7. The Wormhole (produced by Oh No)
8. What's Real (ft. RES) (produced by Rich Kidd)
9. Art Imitates Life (ft. Black Thought, Rah Digga & ALBe. Back) (produced by Oh No)
10. Lover's Peak (produced by 6th Sense)
11. Colors of You (ft. Mike Posner) (produced by J Dilla)